How to submit

How to order


Favorites from 2009

2010 Illustration Contest Results

The Heron’s Nest


Home • Volume Contents • About • Connections

Volume XII, Number 4: December, 2010.
Copyright © 2010. All rights reserved by the respective authors.

Editors’ Choices • Commentary • Index of Poets • 
Haiku Pages:  1,  2,  3,  4,  5,  6,  7,  8,  9,  10,  11,  12 • 
Celebrating Peggy Willis Lyles - Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7

Join Our Email List
For Email Marketing you can trust

Founding Editor:
Christopher Herold

ragged clouds
how it feels
to hold a rake

          Robert Epstein


Staff Emeritus:

Alex Benedict
WebMaster 1999-2002

Robert Gilliland
Associate Editor 2004-2008

Peggy Willis Lyles
Associate Editor 2002-2010

Paul David Mena
Webmaster 2002-2010


Managing Editor:
John Stevenson

Webmaster &
Contributing Editor:

Robert Bauer

Associate Editors:

Alice Frampton
Ferris Gilli
Paul MacNeil

Last updated December, 2010.

This page hosted by:


The Heron’s Nest is a quarterly journal. A new edition is published during the first week of March, June, September, and December. Included are several pages of haiku and one page presenting three Editors’ Choice haiku. In each issue The Heron’s Nest Award is given to one haiku. The winning haiku is posted on the home page, receives special commentary, and a certificate is sent to the poet. The Heron’s Nest will also appear in a single paper edition in April of each year. For details please see the About page. For information regarding how to submit, please click here.


Friends of The Heron’s Nest

We gratefully acknowledge the following generous individuals for their support. Cash contributions help defray the cost of producing this journal and gift subscriptions bring the joy of haiku to an expanding readership.
Sponsors: more than $50
Connie Donleycott
Merrill Ann Gonzales
Billie Wilson

Donors: more than $25
Paul David Mena
Tom Drescher
Wende Skidmore DuFlon
Andrea Grillo
Burnell Lippy
Chen-ou Liu
Gene Murtha

Friends: $5 - $25
Janelle Barrera
Allan Burns
Peg McAulay Byrd
Yu Chang
Vaughan Chapman
Charles R. Edwards, Ph.D.
Carolyn Hall
Shane Robitaille
Grant D. Savage
Lucas Stensland

Memorial Gifts
Penelope A. Jones, remembering Kylan Jones-Huffman
Alice Frampton, remembering Robert Major
John Stevenson, remembering Bill Higginson
Roberta Beary, remembering Peggy Willis Lyles